Happy Navratri 2019

Happy Navratri 2019

Navratri, is amongst the most popular Hindu festivals and is celebrated in various parts of India, and is dedicated to Goddess Durga. Since this festival is full of traditions, gifts that are traditional yet innovative are most preferred by givers and receivers. Chaniya cholis and accessories for women and dhoti kurta or only kurta for men is an apt choice. The famous garbba - dandiya raas is incomplete without dandiya sticks, pair of painted beautiful wooden sticks. These can be some of the ideal gifts for this festive season.

Happy Navratri 2019
Though Navratri is considered as a festival of dance, like all the other festival this one also has a history behind it. These nine nights are celebrated in the worship of the goddess Durga. She is symbolized as the form of Shakti and devotees offer their prayers to her by worshipping 'Garbi', a lighted earthen pot. This Garbi carries a lot of importance and those who place this at their home are to be very careful in their daily pooja and aarti.
Happy Navratri 2019

Navratri literally means 'nine nights' and this festival is a celebration of feminine divinity, also referred to as Shakti. Each night of this festival is dedicated to one of the nine forms of Goddess. These days are celebrated by wearing one color dedicated to on goddess each day. Here's the list of colors to wear on Navratri and where you can find the best ensembles online.
Happy Navratri 2019

Day 1: Red

The first form of Goddess Durga is Shailaputri Maa (daughter of the mountains) and the idol of the Goddess is dressed in a red saree. Red depicts action; vigor and the warmth of this color will get the festivities started.

Day 2: Royal blue

Brahmacharini is the second form of the Goddess and she grants prosperity and happiness. Royal blue is associated with an energy that's calm and powerful.

Day 3: Yellow

Chandraghnata is the third form assumed by the Goddess and she embodies beauty and bravery. The color associated with her is yellow and it provides the light to overcome all darkness.

Day 4: Green

Kushmanda is the fourth form of Goddess Durga and she is believed to have created the universe and made it lush with vegetation, hence the obvious association with the color green.

Day 5: Grey

Skand Mata is the fifth manifestation and in this form, she's seen cradling an infant, Lord Karthik. The vulnerability of a mother and her ability to turn fierce to protect her child is represented by the color grey.

Day 6: Orange

Katyayini is the form assumed by the Goddess. Legend has it that a saint named Kata performed penance and wished for the Goddess to be born as his daughter. The Goddess granted him his wish and was born as Katyayini and was dressed in orange, representing courage.

Day 7: White

Kalratri is the fiercest form of Goddess Durga and the anger visible in her eyes is as dark as night itself. The white she dons signifies her promise to protect her devotees from all harm. White represents peace and worship.

Day 8: Pink

The eight form assumed by the Goddess embodies beauty and grace. She is believed to be the destroyer of all sins and the color pink represents hope and new beginnings. Pink lehenga can be worn for Navratri as well as on other traditional occasions.

Day 9: Light-Blue

On Navami, the ninth day, the Goddess assumes the form of Siddhidatri and she is believed to possess healing powers. The color represents a state of bliss and the beauty of nature.

The tenth day after Navratri is again important. This day is celebrated as Dusshera and it was on this day Durga Maa killed the demon Mahishasur. 
Happy Navratri 2019

It is also believed that on this very day Ravan was also killed by Lord Ram. Thus in the northern part of India on the day of Dusshera large life-size of effigies of Ravan and his brothers, filled with crackers, are erected and burned depicting the victory of good over evil.
Happy Navratri 2019

Navratri isn't just about Dandiya, Garba, and pujas. But it is also about wearing nine different colors to appease the Goddess, so go on and find the best match for you. Navratri literally means 'nine nights' and this festival is a celebration of feminine divinity, also referred to as Shakti. The tenth day is celebrated as Dusshera.

Post a Comment